



Robert K. Agar, Jr. Volunteerism Award

Beginning in 1965, Berkshire United Way has annually selected as "Volunteer of the Year" a local volunteer whose personal commitment and dedication to the ideals of volunteerism was, in the judgement of others, truly exemplary. From 1965 through 1980, 16 such awards were made to persons whose volunteer activity was closely associated with Berkshire United Way itself or one of its affiliated agencies. Honorees during that period were:

- 1965 Daniel J. Miraglia Catholic Youth Center
- 1966 John L.E. Mangum Association for Retarded Citizens
- 1967 Sylvia & Arthur Koerber Girl Scouts
- 1968 Mrs. Richard E. Goodrich Girls Club
- 1969 Mrs. Lawrence J. Pierson Social Service Index
- 1970 Miss Katherine Soldo Association for Retarded Citizens
- 1971 Mrs. Samuel N. Stevenson Camp Fire Girls
- 1972 Mr. Robert C. Saydlowski Red Cross
- 1973 Mr. Robert E. Koch Girl Scouts
- 1974 Mr. John F. Connors Boy's Club
- 1975 Dr. Alfred Eramo Association for Retarded Citizens
- 1976 Mr. Lawrence W. Strattner Boys Scouts, Great Trails Council
- 1977 Mr. Angelo Valenti Boys' Club
- 1978 General Electric Company and Employees
- 1979 Mr. Robert W. Rose United Way of Central Berkshire
- 1980 Mr. Bertram G. Hines G.E. Good Neighbor Fund

In 1981, following the untimely death of Mr. Robert K. Agar, Jr., a member of the Berkshire United Way Board of Directors, the award was renamed to honor his memory. That year, and again in 1982 and 1983, the primary criteria for nomination of this award was a high level of volunteer activity in support of Berkshire United Way and/or its affiliated agencies. Honorees in those years were:

- 1981 Mr. James Craig (co-recipients) United Way of Central Berkshire Mr. Albert E. Easton
- 1982 Ms. Mitzi Scelsi United Cerebral Palsy
- 1983 Attorney Cynthia Spinola Berkshire United Way

Beginning in 1984, a conscious decision was made by volunteers to reposition the Agar Award as an honor open to any individual whose significant commitment to the ideals and spirit of volunteer service to the community was exemplary and worthy of emulation. The previous restriction to activity in support of the "United Way Family" was dropped. Honorees to date who have met these criteria are:

- 1984 Mrs. Kelly Blau Heart of the Berkshires Health Fair
- 1985 July 4th Parade Committee
- 1986 John R. Downie Southern Berkshire United Community Fund
- 1987 Samuel H. Boxer
- 1988 Evette Giftos
- 1989 Archie DeAngelus Charles DeAngelus
- 1990 Ann H. Trabulsi
- 1991 Patricia Carlino
- 1992 Michele Orabona
- 1993 Paul Matthews
- 1994 Joseph Collias
- 1995 Catherine Miller





4000		O 44 I- :
1990	Robert N	. Quattrochi

1997 Jim Mooney

1998 Joseph Santora

1999 Richard L. Whitehead

2000 Skip Thompson

2001 Edward O'Keefe

2002 Joan M McFalls

2003 Carole Siegel

2004 GE Elfun Volunteers

2005 Bob Norris

2007 Ruth Blodgett

2009 Ellen Ruberto

2010 Kathy Noto

2011 Denise Marshall

2012 John Bissell

2014 Berkshire Bank

2015 Josh Billings Runaground

2016 C. Jeffrey Cook

2017 Brenda Burdick

2018 Jim Murray and Ray Murray

2019 Cindy Shogry-Raimer

2021 Price Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church

2022 Jewish Family Services of Western Massachusetts

Thomas F. Cooney Award

First introduced in 1982, this award honors past Campaign Chairman Thomas F. Cooney and was established following his untimely and accidental death. The award is particularly unique in that subsequent to his United Way service in Berkshire County, Mr. Cooney moved to Fall River, Massachusetts, where he also eventually served as that community's United Way campaign chairman. In his memory, the United Way of Greater Fall River has also established an annual "Thomas F. Cooney Award" for outstanding volunteer service.

Here in the Berkshires, the Cooney Award has evolved into a presentation that honors Berkshire United Way volunteers who have a significant and long-term history of activity in support of the annual campaign. While past campaign chairs are not excluded from consideration, greater weight is placed on continuous, year-to-year volunteer commitment to the campaign. The Cooney Award is presented, with the recipient's foreknowledge, during the September Campaign Kick Off by the prior year's recipient. Past recipients include:

- 1982 Raymond LeBeau
- 1984 Robert Petricca
- 1985 Martin J. Cooney
- 1986 Jeffrey P. Rayner
- 1987 Edward A. Van Dyke
- 1988 Mary Shea-Knight
- 1989 Mary K. O'Brien
- 1990 Paul Matthews
- 1991 James H. Lynch, Jr.
- 1992 Richard Whitehead
- 1993 Nicholas Boraski
- 1994 J. Williar Dunlaevy
- 1995 William F. Semanie





1996 David W. Murphy
1997 William M. Furey
1998 Craig Crosier
1998 David Klausmeyer
1999 Charles "Skip" Thompson
2000 Edward O'Keefe
2001 Eugene A Dellea
2002 Robert E. Lee
2003 Jennifer Tierney Stokes

J. Edward Dery Memorial Award

This award was first presented in 1997 to honor the memory of Ed Dery, who passed away at a young age, but left a legacy of giving and caring for his community that few can ever hope to match. This is not an annual award. It is presented to honor extraordinary commitment to the improvement of the quality of life for all in Berkshire County by an individual, foundation, or organization. Past recipients include:

1997 Gary P Scarafoni
2001 Robert A Wells
2003 Nicholas Boraski
2005 Susan Lombard
2013 Marion Simon
2014 Peter Lafayette
2018 Gene Dellea
2021 Peter Marchetti

Raymond P. Brien Leadership Award

First introduced in 2002, this award honors outstanding leadership, commitment, and performance by an individual affiliated with a human services agency in Berkshire County. Past recipients include:

Carolyn Mower Burns, Executive Director Berkshire Ctr for Families & Children
 Ken Singer, Executive Director of Berkshire County Arc.

Labor Award

First introduced in 1995, this award recognizes a member of the labor community who has shown exceptional commitment to Berkshire United Way's campaign, allocations, or committee involvement. Past recipients:

1995 Michael Filpi
1996 Richard Avalle
1997 Jim Curley
1998 No Selection
1999 No Selection
2000 Patrick Mele, Jr.
2001 Michael Callahan
2002 No Selection
2003 National Letter Carrier's Branch #286
2022 Ronald Holmes, Local #473 President





Daniel C. Dillon Helping Hands, Caring Heart Award

First introduced in 1999, this award recognizes an unsung hero in our community who quietly, with little fanfare or recognition, makes our community a better place through volunteer efforts. Past recipients include:

1999 Joan Kass
2000 Ed Skoletsky
2001 Charles Butch Fezzie
2002 Catherine Soldo
2003 Reverend Carl Towley
2004 UNICO Volunteers-Pittsfield Chapter
2005 Daniel Dillon

Following Daniel Dillon's retirement from numerous years of service to Berkshire United Way and the community, this award was renamed in his honor. Recipients of this award include:

2006 Ralph "Doc" Casey and Berkshire Youth United
2009 Phyllis DeMartino
2011 PCTV
2012 Greylock Federal Credit Union
2014 Kelly Marion
2015 Janet Dohoney
2016 Brenda Petell
2017 Julie Salatino
2018 Cara Davis
2019 Arthur Milano
2021 Representative Tricia Farley-Bouvier
2022 Shirley Edgerton

Ruth P. and Nicholas Boraski Leaders in Philanthropy Award

This award honors an individual, couple, or group who have demonstrated by their personal example, as well as financial commitment, their dedication to improving the quality of life for everyone in our community regardless of their means. Past recipients include:

2006 John and Chara Haas
2009 Robert and Claudia Wells
2010 Drs. Armand and Donald Feigenbaum
2011 Josephine and Louise Crane
2012 SABIC Innovative Plastics
2013 Berkshire Life, a Guardian Company
2014 J. Williar and Susan Dunlaevy
2015 Perri Petricca
2016 Gary Johnson
2018 Chris and Kim Mathews
2019 Virginia Stanton Smith
2021 Carlo and Amy Zaffanella
2022 Susan and David Lombard